No Secrets No Lies

Publisher : Harmony

ISBN-13 : 0307419169

Page : 304 pages

Rating : 4.5/5 from 169 voters

With a foreword by Joycelyn Elders, M.D., No Secrets, No Lies is a powerful and daringly honest resource guide for families seeking to understand, prevent, and overcome childhood sexual abuse and its devastating impact on adult survivors. An estimated one in four women and one in six men is abused by age eighteen, most often by someone they know. Most of these sexual assaults are never disclosed, much less reported to the police. No Secrets, No Lies demystifies the cultural taboos and social dynamics that keep Black families silent and enable abuse to continue for generations. Among them: ?Fear of betraying family by turning offenders in to "the system" ?Distrust of institutions and authority figures, such as police officers ?Reluctance to seek counseling or therapy ?A legacy of enslavement and stereotypes about black sexuality Through compelling personal accounts from everyday people, Robin D. Stone, a sexual abuse survivor herself, illuminates the emotional, psychological and hidden consequences of remaining silent, and provides holistic, practical steps to move toward healing. No Secrets, No Lies candidly speaks to: survivors, telling them they are not at fault, not alone and how they can seek help; parents, guardians and caretakers, explaining how they can keep children safe and help survivors recover; and family, friends and other loved ones, showing ways to lend support.

More Books:

No Secrets No Lies
Language: en
Pages: 304
Authors: Robin Stone
Categories: Self-Help
Type: BOOK - Published: 2007-12-18 - Publisher: Harmony

With a foreword by Joycelyn Elders, M.D., No Secrets, No Lies is a powerful and daringly honest resource guide for families seeking to understand, prevent, and
Tell Me No Lies
Language: en
Pages: 268
Authors: Rachel Branton
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2014-05-19 - Publisher: White Star Press

When Romance Takes A Deadly Turn With her trust fund in jeopardy, Tessa Crawford enters into a relationship with a mysterious neighbor that soon turns into some
Tell Me No Secrets
Language: en
Pages: 320
Authors: Joy Fielding
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2016-12-01 - Publisher: Bonnier Publishing Fiction Ltd.

A gripping psychological thriller, perfect for fans of Lisa Hall and BA Paris Jess Koster spends her days putting criminals behind bars. Then she meets Rick Fer
Scattered Leaves
Language: en
Pages: 416
Authors: Virginia Andrews
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2009-05-05 - Publisher: Simon and Schuster

After tragedy tears her family apart, Jordan March is shipped off by her domineering Grandmother Emma to live with Emma's long-forgotten sister. Shuttered in a
Scattered Leaves
Language: en
Pages: 389
Authors: Virginia C. Andrews
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2007 - Publisher: Simon and Schuster

Sent to live with her great-aunt, Jordan March finds a friend in the person of Alanis King, the teenage granddaughter of the rundown farm's handyman, who helps
House Without Lies
Language: en
Pages: 258
Authors: Rachel Branton
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2016-01-13 - Publisher: White Star Press

Her Dream Didn’t Include Falling in Love Lily dreams of a big house, a place of refuge for runaway girls. She knows what it’s like to grow up feeling unlove
Poems Of A Musical Flavour: Volume 3
Language: en
Pages: 276
Authors: Tiara King
Categories: Poetry
Type: BOOK - Published: 2018-08-13 - Publisher: Royal Star Publishing

This book features lyrics I wrote in 1992 when I was 18 years old. 1992 was a good year musically. Indecent Obsession came out with their second album, Indio, a
Poems Of A Musical Flavour: Box Set 1-3
Language: en
Pages: 688
Authors: Tiara King
Categories: Music
Type: BOOK - Published: 2018-09-19 - Publisher: Royal Star Publishing

In 1989 I was 15 years old and started writing song lyrics. Why? Because I wanted to be the Australian version of Debbie Gibson. Music artists were in my life,
Not Exactly as Plaaned: A memoir of Adoption, Secrets and Abiding Love
Language: en
Pages: 253
Authors: Linda Rosenbaum
Categories: Biography & Autobiography
Type: BOOK - Published: 2014-10-01 - Publisher: Demeter Press

Not Exactly As Planned is a captivating, deeply moving account of adoption and the unexpected challenges of raising a child with fetal alcohol syndrome. Linda R
The Lie
Language: en
Pages: 305
Authors: Natalie Wrye
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2021-03-19 - Publisher: Wrye Writing

ANDREW Seven years ago, I took off my tux, slapped on a pair of secondhand jeans and walked away from my billion dollar inheritance. I guess I didn’t walk far